Loading the content... Loading depends on your connection speed!

The Sekhmet Bed (The She-King Book 1)

Nollybook.com » BOOKSTORE » NOVELS » FICTION / LITERATURE » The Sekhmet Bed (The She-King Book 1)
Return to Previous Page

The Sekhmet Bed (The She-King Book 1)


The Sekhmet Bed (The She-King Book 1)

Price: $61.60
Product code: 8986
Availability: out of stock

The Sekhmet Bed is the first volume of L. M. Ironside's series The She-King, a family saga of the Thutmosides, one of ancient Egypt's most fascinating royal families. Is Ahmose's divine gift a blessing or a curse? The second daughter of the Pharaoh, Ahmose has always dreamed of a quiet life as a priestess, serving Egypt's gods, ministering to the people of the Two Lands. But when the Pharaoh dies without an heir, she is given instead as Great Royal Wife to the new king - a soldier of common birth. For Ahmose is god-chosen, gifted with the ability to read dreams, and it is her connection to the gods which ensures the new Pharaoh his right to rule. Ahmose's elder sister Mutnofret has been raised to expect the privileged station of Great Royal Wife; her rage at being displaced cannot be soothed. As Ahmose fights the currents of Egypt's politics and Mutnofret's vengeful anger, her youth and inexperience carry her beyond her depth and into the realm of sacrilege. To right her wrongs and save Egypt from the gods' wrath, Ahmose must face her most visceral fear: bearing an heir. But the gods of Egypt are exacting, and even her sacrifice may not be enough to restore the Two Lands to safety.  9780615967103

This product has sold out.



Old Price: $40.00

Price: $20.00

You save: $20.00


Buy 3, Get 4th FREE! *for discounted books


  • Additional Description
    Language: English | Condition: New 5/5 | Publisher: Running Rabbit | Published: February 2014 | Format: Paperback | Pages: 346 | ISBN: 9780615967103
  • About the Author(s)
    L. M. Ironside is passionate about history. She began devouring adult historical novels right off her mother's bookshelf at age eight and never looked back. In high school, her history teacher assigned her Hatshepsut as the subject of a report. The report turned into a meticulously crafted scale paper model of Hatshepsut's mortuary temple, and Ironside's fate was sealed: she was a confirmed Egypt nut from then on. The Sekhmet Bed, which chronicles the early life of Hatshepsut's mother, was her first novel. When publishers passed on it, she joined the growing ranks of indie authors and released it herself. Reader reaction to The Sekhmet Bed surprised even the author, and she committed to a full series of novels depicting the reign of Egypt's first female Pharaoh. The series continued with The Crook and Flail and Sovereign of Stars, and will conclude with The Bull of Min in the winter of 2014. When she is not writing, L. M. can be found with a pack on her back, long-distance hiking through the incomparable landscape of the place she calls home, Washington State. Her best ideas for new stories come to her while she is on the trail, so she tries to make time for hiking whenever possible, and always keeps a notebook and a pen in her pack so she is prepared when inspiration strikes. She lives near Seattle with her fiance (also crazy about history), her two ill-behaved cats, and a thriving assembly of carnivorous plants. L. M. (you can call her Libbie) loves to hear from her readers. You can contact her via her web site: lmironside.com, where you will also find her blog, which may feature far too many pictures from her hikes. You can join her mailing list for advance news of new releases and other goodies just for fans on her web site. She also writes contemporary fiction under the pen name Libbie Hawker (libbiehawker.com).
  • Delivery
    ETA: 4 Weeks